Postcards from Scotland are published by the Centre for Confidence and Well-being, a registered charity based in Scotland. Registered No. SCO37080

Order Now £10.00 UK FREE delivery

Europe £3 Delivery

Worldwide £5 Delivery

Also available from Amazon


Please email us regarding orders of multiple copies. Discounts on bulk orders also available.

Book 13 | Hiding in Plain Sight

Exploring Scotland’s ill health


Carol Craig


Scotland. A country that prides itself on its modernity and progressive instincts. Yet this is a nation whose mental and physical health outcomes are poor by European standards. Hiding in Plain Sight looks beneath the veneer and asks ‘why?’


In this grippingly readable yet challenging book, Carol Craig offers an answer which, on reflection, becomes glaringly obvious. Generations of Scottish children have suffered in ways that undermined the nation’s health. The effect on some individuals has been, quite literally, life-threatening. Disarmingly honest in starting from her own and her neighbours’ lived experiences, she explores the growing body of international research on Adverse Childhood Experiences.


This is essential reading not just for those who grew up in Scotland in the 1950s and 60s and were encouraged to see a range of damaging childhood adversities as ‘normal’. Its insights are for anyone committed to enhancing the lives of children across Scotland today.


hugely powerful, raw and brave Alistair Moffat, historian


an important book . . . her compelling conclusions are a challenge to us all

Phil Hanlon, Emeritus Professor of Public Health


a courageous and illuminating response to the science of Adverse Childhood Experiences Suzanne Zeedyk, developmental psychologist


a heartfelt and welcome personal account of a very important topic

Anne McKechnie, clinical psychologist


Carol Craig runs the Centre for Confidence and Well-Being and is the author of The Scots Crisis of Confidence,The Tears the Made the Clyde, and The Great Takeover. She is editor of the Postcards from Scotland series.


Foreword by Professor Phil Hanlon and Afterword by Anne McKechnie